Peppadew Chicken

Peppadews as you may not know are a true South African pepper. I now try to keep a fresh stock of red Peppadews in the fridge.

Peppadews are perfect on sandwiches, stuffed at a party and they make the most delicious marinades because of their sweet and tangy taste.

Yesterday I knew that I was going to be busy with school activities, so in the morning when I got home from work. I made this marinade and when I woke up, I just popped it in the oven and it was ready in no time.


Peppadew Chicken

8 chicken pieces – I used de-boned and skinless breasts.
1 medium red onion (chopped)
1/2 cup peppadews
1 cup plain yogurt
1/2 cup Hot Mango chutney.
2 tbsp flour
1 dry Ancho chili (stemmed and seeded)

Place all the ingredients, except the chicken, in a food processor and mix until it is a thick chunky sauce. Season the chicken with salt and place in a oven-proof dish. Pour the sauce/marinade over and baked for 1 hour at 350 or until golden brown.