Tilapia Puntanesca with Angel Hair Pasta

Tilapia Puntanesca with Angel Hair Pasta

This is another of my twisted recipes. I didn’t have Italian sausage in the fridge so I went with Tilapia Filets. According to everything I have read I am not sure If I am the best person to be making a Puntanesca Sauce. But, I will leave that up to you to research on Google. And my version may seem much different then you may find. Only because I don’t like anchovies and Olives in my food. But, I am the one cooking so changes are up to my taste.

1 Red Onion, Thickly Sliced, separated into rings
6 cloves of garlic, crushed
6 tablespoons Kerrygold Irish butter with garlic and herbs
2 red Melrose peppers
1/2 jar of Piquante peppers with juice
1 (14 ounce) can whole tomatoes
1 (14 ounce) jar crushed tomatoes with spicy peppers
2 red Melrose peppers, sliced in rings
1 green bell pepper diced
1 yellow bell pepper diced
Oregano to taste
Basil to taste
Salt and black pepper to taste
4 Tilapia filets cut into bite size pieces
1 pound Angel Hair Pasta (or your favorite pasta)
3 to 4 tablespoons olive oil
2 table spoons butter
1 cup Red Wine
1 cup chopped fresh basil

Saute onions and crushed garlic in 6 tablespoons of Kerrygold herb & garlic butter in dutch oven or stockpot until onions are light brown. Stir in Melrose peppers. Add whole tomatoes, crushed tomatoes with peppers, bell peppers, oregano, basil and mix well.

Cook on high for 15 minutes, stirring frequently. Turn down heat to low until thickened, stirring occasionally. Season with salt and black pepper. Add red wine and let simmer for 30 minutes covered. Stirring occasionally making sure nothing burns to bottom of pot.

Cook pasta using package directions, adding salt and olive oil to water, drain. Combine pasta with 3 tablespoons of butter, tossing until mixed. Transper to a serving platter.

Now place and cook the bite sized pieces of Tilapia into Puntanesca Sauce for 10 minutes prior to serving over pasta. Spoon sauce over pasta. Top with chopped fresh basil.

One thought on “Tilapia Puntanesca with Angel Hair Pasta

  1. Off My Grill Post author

    Ok this might not be a true Puntanesca Sauce. But I love the word “Puntanesca” So it works for me. Besides who really knows what it means anyways.

Comments are closed.