Adventures in Pucking

Like baseball and football, hockey fandom includes the buying, selling and trading of player cards. I know Emma has quite a few now, including one of Patrice Bergeron that I got her as a birthday/Christmas gift. In turn, for my birthday she got me a very special card as well. No, it’s not Patrick Kane’s rookie card from the 2007-08 season; it’s a card from quite a long time ago…back when he was a baby Buffalo Sabres fan.

Okay, let’s break this down:

This is a Pinnacle card from 1995, and the featured player is Sylvain Turgeon of the Ottawa Senators (the guy in black). He’s surrounded by Doug Bodger (on the left) and Dale Hawerchuk (on the right). This was taken at the old Buffalo Memorial Auditorium because I can see the sign “Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Western New York” partially blocked by the action.

In trying…

View original post 193 more words